We Reap What We Sow

Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later.

Og Mandino

Hey! Mark here

I came across this quote recently and to be honest, it just sounded like another rah-rah quote, with no actual deep meaning to it. But looks CAN be deceiving.

I looked into the bio of Og Mandino and read his bio and then read his philosophy. The quote means so much more to me now.

Here is exactly what it says under his PHILOSOPHY

Philosophy

Mandino wrote The Greatest Salesman in the World which contains the “time-tested wisdom of the ancients distilled into ten simple scrolls” which, if followed for the prescribed ten months, will as Og says, “seep into my other mind, that mysterious source which never sleeps, which creates my dreams, and often makes me act in ways I do not comprehend. As the words of these scrolls are consumed by my mysterious mind I will begin to awake, each morning, with a vitality I have never known before. My vigor will increase, my enthusiasm will rise, my desire to meet the world will overcome every fear I once knew at sunrise, and I will be happier than I ever believed it possible to be in this world of strife and sorrow.” (Scroll I)

The scrolls each have a principle designed to replace bad habits built up over a lifetime which “threatens to imprison my future” (Scroll I) with good habits developed through a ten month process of studying the scrolls. They are:

  • Scroll I – Today I begin a new life.
  • Scroll II – I will greet this day with love in my heart.
  • Scroll III – I will persist until I succeed.
  • Scroll IV – I am nature’s greatest miracle.
  • Scroll V – I will live this day as if it is my last.
  • Scroll VI – Today I will be master of my emotions.
  • Scroll VII – I will laugh at the world (Keep perspective)
  • Scroll VIII – Today I will multiply my value a hundredfold.
  • Scroll IX – I will act now.
  • Scroll X – I will pray for guidance.

Mandino’s main philosophical message is that every person on earth is a miracle and should choose to direct their life with confidence and congruent to the laws that govern abundance. He wrote in Scroll I, “I will not fail as the others, for in my hands I now hold the charts (the Ten Scrolls) which will guide me through perilous waters to shores which only yesterday seemed but a dream.” Og was also a proponent of taking action now. In Scroll IX, the phrase I will act now is written 18 times. He recognized that all successful people take on their own lives by “charting” or consciously choosing both the desired destination and the path to reach it.

This is what I have been learning about over the past month or so, it is all about attitude, all about perspective. That I can and will be successful. That I can and will change my mindset from one that says “eh…maybe” to “YES I CAN!”

It is amazing how things come together sometimes, how when you look for similarities in philosophies instead of ridiculing the differences, that things start making sense. I can get value from just about anything if I have the right perspective.

I love listening to the Inner Circle Audios from Empower Network, they motivate, they resonate, they just make sense. There is so much information at my fingertips now that I just want to absorb and want to share with everyone. Unfortunately not everyone is ready. Even worse is that a lot of them have no idea what they are missing.

I listened to one the other day from Kassandra Lee and Paulo C.Q. and they were talking about doing “Whatever It Takes” to get what you want. The exact quote that really made my ears perk up and take notice was that “Keeping it legal and keeping it ethical are the only restrictions for doing WHATEVER IT TAKES“. There really are no other excuses.

Think about this statement and then read the 10 scrolls above about replacing bad habits. See how they can be incorporated together. This works for any kind of positive change. Try it, you will see what I mean.

Are you ready to do whatever it takes?

I plan on getting Og Mandino’s book ASAP, I have no plans going in on becoming the Greatest Salesman On Earth, but I am willing to do whatever it takes to make changes in my outlook, in my attitude and the first step of doing anything is to LEARN

Enjoy Your Day

Mark and Michelle Eaves

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

