Hitting Bottom – Bouncing Back Thought For December 30

 

We have all hit a bottom at some point in our lives, some lower than others. Some MUCH lower than others.

But it doesn’t matter how low the bottom is, it doesn’t have to get any lower than it already is.

We always have options, some might not be as apparent as others, but they are there. I am speaking from experience here.

I’m sure you have heard all of the clichés about “picking yourself up by the bootstraps” or that it is “always darkest before the dawn”.

One thing that I have learned in my lifetime is that the easiest way to get yourself back up off the ground once you seem to be as low as you can be, is to ask for help.

Unfortunately pride tends to stand in the way of asking for anything sometimes, but getting past that pride is a MUST. Ego will always stand in the way.

“I can do it myself” are the some of the loneliest words that I know. I have said it way too many times. It took a proverbial dropkick to my head to finally get me to admit that I don’t have all the answers and that I needed some help, and since that day that I will remember for the rest of my life, it has gotten nothing but better!

I have been told that EGO stands for Easing God Out, which makes absolute sense to me. I tried to play God for a very long time, always trying to get the world to face the way that I was going. Life doesn’t work that way. Sometimes we need to change our outlook and our attitude in order to be able to live life on life’s terms.

Asking for help should not be hard, but I can tell you that it is, or at least it was. It takes practice just like anything else that one learns. It doesn’t happen overnight, but as it becomes a part of your outlook each day, that maybe there is a better way and it is NOT mine, it gets so much better. The weight of the world is lifted off of your shoulders.

Anyway, it took me to hit bottom pretty hard to see the error in my ways. But I AM bouncing back and part of my recovery is that I need to get out of myself and help others. And the funny part is, that when you start to help others, you’ll see more and more of like-minded people doing the same.

I know that we all read about and see news about bad people all the time, but I know that those are the exception, not the rule in this world. There are so many good people out there that are willing to help and that will support and be “in your corner”. Those are the people that I choose to hang around with these days.

And it is also amazing just where you find these people. I have several groups that I rely on for different parts of my life and my ultimate goal is to be able to pay these people back. And the best way (and only way) that these good people want to be paid back is for me to pay it forward. To help someone that is going through what I went through.

I am not going to go into details about these folks right here and now, but if you are interested in a life changing opportunity, please let me know in the comments and I will communicate directly with you.

Peace and Love always

Mark

 

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “Hitting Bottom – Bouncing Back Thought For December 30

  • Just Plain Ol' Vic

    I think hitting rock bottom (or at least perceiving that we are at rock bottom) happens to all of us at some point in our lives. Having a support system makes it so much easier to pick yourself up but first and foremost you must have faith in yourself and a determination to grow and learn from past mistakes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

