Ignorance and Confidence – Thought for December 29, 2014

To succeed in life, you need two things: ignorance and confidence.

Mark Twain

What does this quote mean? Good question. I went online and did a little reading on this quote and I found this opinion in a forum that really resonated with me:

I think the meaning of ignorance in this saying means, to ignore people or things that are unimportant to what you are trying to achieve in your life.Only focus on what is fundamental to your progression. Just use what´s relevant and don´t let traditional values or concepts that society or people have forced upon everyone, influence you, your thoughts or your actions. I think it means to be different …the majority of people are afraid of people who are different

Being ignorant is not being stupid, it is being unaware of something. So in this case it would mean being unaware of what others think that you should be.

It would mean acting and living the way that you want to, regardless of all of the “inside the box” thinkers out there. Doing things that make you happy, that make you and your family able to feel the freedom to be who they really are.

  • Standing in a long line at Wal-Mart waiting to be checked out by a disgruntled employee that really doesn’t want to be there.
  • Only listening to music that is played on the local “Hits” radio station because that is what everyone else is listening to
  • Working at a job that you hate because everyone tells you that it is the only way “to get ahead”

Been there, done that, don’t want to go back!

We only get one chance at this. Life was not meant to be lived according to others. Living life on life’s terms does NOT mean that you have to let everyone and everything control you, it means that we need to learn how to deal with life HEAD ON, not to run and hide from it.

Dance like no one is watching

Sing like no one is listening

Live like it is your last day on earth.

Have the confidence to do the things that you want to do.

That is what Ignorance and Confidence means to me!

With Much Respect

Mark and Michelle Eaves

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

