Mark – An Update


Went away for the Holiday weekend, but we are back.

I have been posting something that I worked on a few months back that I have been wanting to get back to, but never made the time. It is called Green River Road. It is a story about a young man trying to find his way out of something that he really is not sure how he got into. You can click HERE if you want to read the story so far, there are links in the story going back to the beginning. A new chapter will be published on December 4th.

Up until now, I have been mostly following the Daily Prompt when writing on my blog, which is perfectly fine and might be something that I will want to get back to, but that was not why I started my blog. Up at the top there, it says “joatmon14 – trying to figure it out”. For those of you that don’t know, joatmon is an acronym which stands for Jack Of All Trades Master Of None. Something that I have been using for a while now, mostly because I am pretty good at many things, but not extremely good at any….in my opinion. 14 is in reference to my all-time favorite baseball player and my hero since I was a kid, Ernie Banks. “Trying To Figure It Out” is what I was trying to do when I started this back in June, and for the most part still am and always will be.

I say that because the world is an ever changing place, and if I am not learning, growing and changing then I feel like I will be left behind. This world has so much to offer and I want mine.

I still plan on posting here as much as I can for now, but I am still trying to keep up with 2 websites and that still doesn’t make sense to me. I don’t know what is holding me back from just having one all-encompassing blog, but I need to figure it out.

Listening to people lately, it is clear to me that I still have not found my voice. I had been doing something called “An Ignorant View” which is where I took the top story from Google News, read up on it for exactly one hour and then formed MY OWN opinion on it and wrote about it. I am going to get back to that because I really need to have MY OWN opinions on issues, plus I feel that it is important to stay informed, even when all the news seems to be bad news. I believe that ignorance is just a lack of knowledge. It does not mean that I am stupid in any way, just that I have been lazy about keeping informed. This is going to be featured on my blog www.startsat50.com which is where this current web site is going to migrate to by the end of the year (just made that decision in my head right now)

In the last 6 months, I have discovered that I truly enjoy writing and there are some options out there that I am looking to pursue. Another of my passions is music, and has been for a very long time. I am going to start going through my catalog of music and share some of the songs that never got any notoriety, but in my opinion are great songs. Most of them tell a story and I will share as much as I know or can learn.

I am also going to be searching and reading up on health concerns, seeing that I will be turning 50 very soon, I know that I could and should be leading a much healthier lifestyle. Be it recipes, or exercises, activities that I would like to try or have tried, and any other topic that comes up along the way. This includes living in recovery from several addictions that have actually been a blessing in my life. If I had not become aware of just how bad that they had become, I probably would not be trying to get better.

I also enjoy writing Fiction and plan to continue to do so. So an occasional Daily Prompt might still be in order, or…….who knows what lurks in this head ‘o’ mine.

So, that is where I am at this point, there are still some question marks that will be answered in the near future, but no matter what happens I know that God has my back. In fact I know now that He always has, the problem was, and always has been, me.

See Ya!

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

