The Good “Old” Days

Glory Days. . . .

Ah. . .those were the best days of my life!

Hey, you remember that time. . . . .?

It just don’t get better than that!

Umm. . .yeah it does!

Yes, it WILL

There is nothing that has happened to me in my life that I cannot improve upon (wedding day and birth of children excluded).

Why does everyone talk about the past as if it was the best time of their life? What about today? What about NOW?

Why can’t this be the best time of your life?

There is a saying that goes like this. “If I have one foot in yesterday and one foot in tomorrow, then I am pissing all over today!”

Living in the past wondering what I could have or should have done differently had gotten me nowhere. The only thing that I can do about my past is to learn from it, and there are a LOT of lessons there, trust me!

Worrying about what is going to happen tomorrow, or next week, or next year just tends to leave me wondering about the past when all of my grandiose plans do not come true, mostly from my inability to start things or see things through to fruition.

It needs to start now. No more excuses!

Now here is the point where everyone rolls their eyes and I feel good about what I just wrote for about 15 minutes, and then life goes on.

I can’t keep doing that. I am pretty much out of options at this point if I do not get my sh!t together. I could have written about all of the bad things that have happened to me in my lifetime, and there have been many, most of which were self-inflicted, but that won’t mean much.

I could write about what is on my bucket list, which I kind of have up in one of those rusty old file cabinets in my head, but how is that going to help to talk about the good ol’ days?

For me, the good ol’ days need to be every day that I wake up and am able to get out of bed and live life. To be able to be thankful for all that I do have, not be regretful for all that I don’t have or never had.

The good ol’ days need to start every morning with me getting on my knees and thanking God that I have another chance, that I am alive for one more day.

The good ol’ days need to end every night with me getting on my knees and thanking God for that one day.

Falling LeavesThe good ol’ days need to be everything in between, and if I do everything in my power to live, to be a good person. To tell the people that I love, that I love them. To be there when someone who is struggling needs someone, just like all the people that were there for me when I was struggling. To look at the trees and the green grass and just know what a miracle it is that we all are living on this planet that can sustain life the way it does. To breathe in that cool crisp fall air as the leaves say good bye to the tree that they have been holding on to for months and fall to the ground, knowing that come spring there will be new leaves on the trees so that the circle of life can continue.

So yes, I do have stories about the good old days in my life that I wish to share, and they are happening right now.

So join me if you will on this new and ever changing journey that I like to call. . . . Life

life

 

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

6 responses to “The Good “Old” Days

Leave a Reply

