Losing It

Been thinking about this all day. If the world lost all color except for one, what would it be?

It is not about just not seeing colors to me, it would be about losing the ability to see all the colors that I once saw. The changing of leaves in the fall, a sunset over a body of water, or a field of wildflowers blowing in the wind. None of those would ever be the same. One argument that came to me was “what about the poor people that are color blind?” As unfortunate as that is, they really have no way of knowing what they are missing. I inserted the song above because it is what came to mind when (over) thinking about this, “Sadder still to watch it die, than never to have known it….”

It is not about picking one color, it is about a change. Ask the dancer that can no longer dance, or the actor that can no longer remember their lines, or the athlete that just can’t keep up. Look into the eyes of an elder who is searching for the answers that they used to be able to give at the drop of the hat. Or an animal struggling to be able to even get to their feet any more. It is sad.

Like I said, I am sure I overanalyzed this way too much, but change is hard. Very hard. Looking at what you once had and knowing that it is gone……do not like that feeling at all.

So back to the question, what color would I choose?

I think what I would miss most is the color of the fields of green grass, of the many, many shades of trees in a woods while walking down a path. If I had to choose, and even though if asked I would probably not think to say green is my favorite color, probably because I have been saying blue my entire life, but I believe it would have to be green.

Hope everyone had a great weekend, weather has been beautiful here and driving and looking at the trees this morning really made up my mind for me.

Peace

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

2 responses to “Losing It

Leave a Reply

