Perspective of Inequality

in·e·qual·i·ty
ˌinəˈkwälədē/
noun
noun: inequality; plural noun: inequalities
  1. difference in size, degree, circumstances, etc.; lack of equality.
    Based on the definition of equality above, wouldn’t everyone feel inequality? And wouldn’t that be a good thing?
    I mean, why would we all want to live the exact same lives as anyone else? Why would we want to be held to the same standards as anyone else? And why would we want to be held to anyone else’s standards, except maybe God’s?!
    Of course this is simplifying things a whole lot, or is it? Yes, I do understand that there are people that live in circumstances not of their making and they have no way out of them. But there are also people that put themselves into situations even though they do have the ability to get themselves out of them, and those are the people that seem to complain the loudest.
    We all feel inequality at some point. Be it socially, emotionally or physically. The problem, in my opinion, is when we feel this inequality and, rather than trying to make a change in OURSELVES, we complain about what the other person has or is. We cannot change other people, no matter how hard we try.
    Trying to get others to change to make me feel better is not working, so it is up to me to change.
    Anyone else in?

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

7 responses to “Perspective of Inequality

  • MW

    There is a difference between inequality derived from your own lack of ambition, effort or work ethic versus the inequality placed on people by others in a higher position of power.

    When corporate CEO’s get kickbacks and bonuses adding up to millions of dollars to make decisions that ultimately take jobs away from hourly workers in the USA and move them overseas and the hourly workers don’t receive anything except a pink slip then that is a form of income inequality. There is no way to combat actions like those if you are one of the hourly workers or even middle management. Sure you could say that those workers should work harder or apply themselves so that they could attain a higher position, but that is not the reality of the current work force. Even with all the credentials and education those jobs are few & far between in this economy. Even though corporations go through all the motions of posting the jobs and doing interviews to appear that they are EOE the real truth is many of those jobs are obtained through nepotism or who the applicant knows within the hiring company not based on credentials and/or experience.

    Don’t misconstrue I am not saying life should be fair nor am I arguing the fact that many people have put themselves in poor positions and make no effort to rectify their situation. I am simply saying that there comes a point where a society is intentionally broken into the have’s and the have-not’s and that it isn’t the have-nots that are deliberately doing it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joatmon14

      I agree, it is just a perspective. I spent most of my life worrying about what other people were earning or what other people could “do” to me and I lost all perspective of reality.

      Today I choose to worry about those things that I am able to do something about. What I wrote was a very simple view of inequality, as there are so many levels to it in my opinion.

      There is nothing fair in the corporate world anymore and it basically brought me to my knees, so much so that I had to get out, regardless of what people thought of me. Looking for a new way now

      I appreciate your comments and agree with you, but those things are out of my control.

      Mark (startsat50.com)

      Like

      • MW

        We all have our vices, fears and wants. You are a brilliant, naturally charismatic guy by virtue of your honesty and openness. Unfortunately that is not a quality that propels us forward in this world. You simply have a choice to make. You either sell out and treat others like shit to get ahead or you stick to your values and constantly question your level of success. Somewhere in between those two is probably some degree of personal satisfaction and balance that I have yet to find and being the cynic I am seriously doubt very few achieve. Our superego or lack thereof drive us into a path of what we are willing to sacrifice to become successful. I believe that the stronger our moral upbringing is the less successful we tend to be. I could have easily acquired more wealth over my lifetime if I had just been more willing to compromise my beliefs. For example I own several websites that I could have accepted advertising dollars for or sold for a substantial profit, but I held to my ideals that honesty and integrity of the information I was providing to the public were worth more than money and as a result I don’t have a pocket full of cash. I do have a good moral compass though and with that and a few dollars I can get a couple cheeseburgers off the value menu.

        Like

      • joatmon14

        I guess it all depends on your definition of success. I’ve had the money, the big house, etc….and it was never enough. Today I seek serenity, and I truly believe it is out there. And the amazing thing is, that the closer I get to it, all the other things in life take care of themselves. I hope we all can find that balance in life, it is there. Looking forward to the journey at the very least.

        Like

  • Marissa Bergen

    Funny, I read a couple of blogs that took on this challenge and everyone seemed to think inequality was a good thing. I definitely see the point.

    Liked by 1 person

  • Just Plain Ol' Vic

    In my opinion, I think that it’s a flawed concept that you have to change. Why do you have to change for others?!

    Accept yourself for who you are. Demand that your family and friends do the same.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

