The Dumb Butler

Let me start off by saying that I love my Mom. Love her very much. And although the morning prompt wanted to know of a time that I used a word incorrectly only to realize it in hindsight, I am going to tell a story that my Dad used to tell us. Now please do not think that I am saying that I never use words incorrectly or out of context or whatever…, I do. We all do, but this is too good not to share. Plus I am pretty sure my Mom has never and probably never will read my blog, but on the outside chance that she does, please don’t be mad at me.

Dad used to tell us of a time back when we were much, much younger, when my Mom was cleaning the house or taking things up and down the stairs at the house we all grew up in, and decided that it was a lot of work.

“I need one of those things” she said as she trudged up the stairs

“What thing?” Dad responded

“One of those dumb butlers” she said.

“We don’t need a butler.”

“No, one of those things that you put stuff on, that is on a rope and pulley thingy.”

“You mean a dumbwaiter?”

“Yeah, one of those.”

Not sure why that story has been kept alive all of these lives, but it has.

Y’all have a nice weekend, we are off to Charlotte for some racin’!!!

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

2 responses to “The Dumb Butler

Leave a Reply

