Skinny On Obesity (Part VI)

Posted this on startsat50.com

This is part 6 of the 7 part series. In this one it talks about stress and its effect on obesity. It also talks about becoming aware of what we are eating, they call it mindfulness.

Have you ever:

  • Kept eating just because there was food left on the table?
  • Sat and ate a complete meal, knowing that you are full and kept “nibbling” on bread or the tortilla chips at a Mexican restaurant?
  • Ordered dessert just because you knew it would taste good, even though you were not hungry?
  • Had a bad day and grabbed the first bag of chips you could find and just plopped down in front of the TV because “you deserved it”?

I have, to all of those. I kept reading in Kris Gunnars’ very interesting e-book “Vicious Eating.” In Part 3 he talks about food addictions. He lists his 8 symptoms of food addiction as the following:

  1. Cravings despite being full
  2. Eat much more than you intended to
  3. Eat until feeling excessively “stuffed” (Binge)
  4. Feel guilty afterwards, but do it again soon
  5. Making up excuses in your head
  6. Repeated failures of setting rules
  7. Hiding your consumption from others
  8. Unable to quit despite physical problems

This list just floored me, not only does it describe most of my eating habits, but if you change food to another of my addictions, it nails it perfectly.

The reason I started this blog is because I need and want to do something about it now, right now. No more excuses. A blogging friend of mine has also started a new website called Glory Begin, a very spiritual look at starting over or starting now, or just starting period. With stress being a factor in obesity, Allison’s web site will come in handy.

One of the things that I want to get into more is meditation and she talks about it all the time on her blog. Today was her first day with her website so go check it out, it is pretty awesome, and no she is not paying me to say that! šŸ™‚

I decided to go back to the gym today, went this morning by myself and walked a mile on the treadmill (it’s a start), then after my daughter got out of school we went back up there for a little while this afternoon. Being mindful is so important, that is why I am trying to learn as much as I can from these videos and books, it makes walking through the grocery store an entirely different experience. Actually started reading ingredients on some items while trying to stay out of old ladies pushing grocery carts, they can be dangerous!

More soon

Take Care
Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

4 responses to “Skinny On Obesity (Part VI)

  • Just Plain Ol' Vic

    Being mindful is very important for sure. Portion control is helpful, especially to satisfy cravings. Exercise will help curb your appetite as well add increasing your water intake.

    Like

  • Allison

    MARK! You incredibly awesome soul!! This post freaking rocks! And as I read down I see you talking about my work and I’m literally floored!

    I’m such a hot mess with a self-hosted site because it doesn’t tell me when anyone links to my page. So I had no idea, I just knew I wanted to see what was going on with you and was pumped and so delighted to see this post – mainly because I can feel your energy and commitment in your words as you change your life.

    So exciting. Glad you mentioned meditation . . . working on a guided one now . . . can’t wait to share!

    Keep rockin friend! šŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

