This Morning’s A-Ha Moment

Changing behavior not goalsThis morning I heard some one say something that really hit home with me.

I need to stop changing my goals to meet my behavior, and start changing my behavior to meet my goals.

That made so much sense and it is EXACTLY what I have done my entire life. When things do not go as I planned them, I change what I need (or want) the end result to be so that I will not have to change what I am trying to do in order to achieve the result.

When things get “hard” or “tough”, I always come up with some excuse to not meet my desired goal, thereby justifying in my head the need to change the goal or end result.

It was an “A-Ha” moment. Now the question is, what am I going to do with it?

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

3 responses to “This Morning’s A-Ha Moment

  • mle471earthlinknet

    Well I think you are going to change your behavior to meet your goals, silly. I don’t think I’ve ever heard that before. If I want a great marriage, then I need to keep changing my behavior to make sure I keep striving for it. If I don’t, my goal would have to change to make it just a marriage. I like this Ah-ha moment. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  • soireadthisbooktoday

    Brilliant. You are right – – – this has been my habit for much, much too long. Maybe your short but deeply pertinent commentary will help others to make the change long before I did!

    Like

  • Just Plain Ol' Vic

    This is a pretty profound thing that many miss. Goals are not supposed to be easy to achieve. A goal need to be something that forces us to perform at a high level, to struggle and learn about ourselves. By making a goal difficult to attain, the reward is so much sweeter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

