War Inside My Head

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” — Allen Ginsberg

Do you follow Ginsberg’s advice — in your writing and/or in your everyday life?

When I read this morning’s Daily Prompt, the VERY first thing that came into my head was the song “War Inside My Head” by Dream Theater. As anyone that knows me at all, Dream Theater and their music is a very big part of me, their lyrics can touch my soul more often than not, possibly because one of their members is in recovery and I can relate to his lyrics. But they are also classically trained musicians that just ROCK and have done so for more than 25 years, which would seem to be the meaning of them following their inner moonlight. They are also family men that treat their career just as it is, a career. They love what they do so they do it a lot. They don’t take breaks like many bands do, they write and perform music and in my opinion just keep getting better. Here is that song (along with a second song) performed live in Tokyo back in 2004.

The song is about someone that went through the horrors of Vietnam, so I cannot relate to that, but the war inside my head has been going on for quite a while. My problem was always that the war raged inside, but I hid it well. Always tried to maintain outer calmness even when my insides were getting torn up. That is no way to live. I guess that is part of the reason that I love writing. I can use some of that inner madness in the stories I make up, check out Green River Road   which I have been working on and need to get back to. It just keeps growing in my mind and is now a 9 part series with at least 4 more parts already thought out in my head.

Inner calmness is what I desire. It is what I need. It is what I work on every day now, I have to. I will.

So what exactly is my point? Hmm…..not sure to be honest. Let’s summarize

  1. Dream Theater is freaking awesome
  2. There is, and always will be a war raging inside my head
  3. There is a way to channel that madness positively
  4. Inner Calmness (aka Serenity) is my ultimate goal

There you have my Friday rambling. Hope y’all have a great day and an even better weekend

Love

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “War Inside My Head

Leave a Reply

