Inner Ugliness

Absolute beauty. The beauty within all of us. The ability to see past the sometimes gross exterior to see someone or something’s worth. Perspective, that is what it is all about.

My perspective? I try to look for the good in people, sometimes to a fault. Sometimes to where I would end up getting hurt over it. I believe there is good in all people, unfortunately it can often be buried deep, deep, deep beneath some ugliness. Not necessarily outward ugliness, but under inner ugliness. The inner ugliness that comes from believing everything that one reads. From believing what others say about you or what they say about others. From putting other people upon a pedestal, thereby setting yourself up to be hurt because no one should have to live up to your expectations, that just isn’t fair to them.

There is so much beauty in the world, a sunset over a lake, children playing in the park, leaves turning to their fall colors, the unknowing smile of a baby to a knowing smile of the elderly. Nature itself is an amazing spectacle to be seen. Watching a spider, which most people do not think of as beautiful, build a spider web. It is amazing to watch the art work of this creature regardless of people’s feelings toward it. See a spider, squash it! That is what I usually hear. Trying watching one once when it is busy doing what it does naturally, it is an amazing creature.

Weeds, we all hate them, but left to grow they can create some amazing scenery.

So in answer to the question posed this morning, is all beauty contingent on a subjective point of view? My answer is that I hope so. If I have to believe that something or someone is beautiful because someone else says it is, then that is a world that I do not want to live in. I have seen and felt inner ugliness, and I do not want to ever go back to it. Life has too much to offer, I refuse to sit back and feel sorry for myself because everyone else says that the world is no good. I do not believe that and will not believe it.

Enjoy your day

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

3 responses to “Inner Ugliness

Leave a Reply

