Depends How You Look At It

What would be the worst job ever?

Any job that you think that you are too good for,,,

Don’t be afraid to give your best to what seemingly are small jobs. Every time you conquer one it makes you that much stronger. If you do the little jobs well, the big ones will tend to take care of themselves.

Dale Carnegie

Too many times in my corporate life I heard people tell me that “this job isn’t for them” and walk out the door. Or “I don’t get paid enough to do this” or assorted other comments that I wish not to share out of respect for the English language.

 

“If you paid me more, I would work harder” is one of my all time favorites, and they ended up leaving. Funny thing was, more often than not those same people would come back looking for a job again.
 
One piece of advice that I was freely given was that as long as I did my best at whatever job I had, whether it was washing dishes, sweeping floors, driving forklifts, or whatever, that all I had to do was to do the very best that I could do and the rest would take care of itself.
 
“If you are a boxmaker, then be the best damn boxmaker that you can”
 
So many people think that they are entitled to better jobs just because they show up, that the job that they signed up for. Let me repeat that, THE JOB THAT THEY SIGNED UP FOR, is not good enough for them a week or a month later. I have been in management for over 20 years but before that I did all those jobs I listed above. Even spent time working in a sandblasting machine cleaning steel columns, you would be amazed where sand can get to on a human body. But I showed up and did the best I could do. And as a manager I tried to keep that same frame of mind and when I had to do something that I did not want to do, or something that I didn’t think that a manager should have to do, I did it anyway.
 
Yes, companies can treat people in low level jobs like crap, hell, they can treat people in high level jobs like crap. My point is that as long as you have the job, just do the best that you can do. Stop whining about how bad the job is. Start looking for another job while you are still working. I have learned some very hard lessons in my life, and one of the biggest lessons I have learned is that you cannot take your job for granted. Bad things happen, trust me on this one.
 
Back to my original point, if I think that I am too good to do a job, then I should not take that job. Sometimes we all have to take jobs that we don’t necessarily want, and if we do, then we need to just suck it up and do the best job possible. I am by no means an expert on management or on labor in general, but I do know that when I have the proper frame of mind and a good attitude (Which I do not always have), then I can honestly say that whatever job I am doing….might not be so bad
 
I’ll get off my soap box now….
 
See Ya
Mark
 
 

free ebook downloads

 
 
 
 

Info on Real Writing Jobs Click Here!

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “Depends How You Look At It

  • Cin Brammer

    Being the assistant to the administrator that does the hiring and firing I see this in people all the time. They come in excited to find a job, present themselves well, get hired…but most don’t last. Many are looking for a paycheck without having to do the work. In an industry is where you care for people and their needs it’s not acceptable to not do your job well. But I can also say, when you find someone that does their job well they are a treasure! It does help to love what you do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

