Seeing a Sunrise, or Feeling a Sunrise?

How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise?

Seeing the sun rise is an every day occurrence for me. Even when I don’t “have” to get up, I am up. Get up, get in shower, brush teeth, etc….walk out of bedroom to still darkness, even the animals haven’t stirred yet. Usually get on the computer for a little while until it is time to get my daughter to school, not much talking is done in the morning, just going through the morning routine.

To me, I usually don’t think about the sunrise, the dawning of a new day. It just happens because it is supposed to happen, Sun rises, sun sets, sun rises, sun sets. And that is a damn shame. Now if the question was, “when was the last time that you saw AND APPRECIATED a sunrise?”, that would have taken some serious thinking and remembering.

I am still relatively new to this new journey that my life has been redirected to. Ultimate goal is to be joyous, happy and free. Not there yet but headed in the right direction. Part of that journey I believe is to stop taking things for granted. I try, and when I try I usually can find some amazing things that this universe has to offer. Watching the clouds, kids playing in a park, having people around me that truly care about me for who I am, and not for what they can get from me. I have seen sunsets that I stopped and appreciated, but don’t remember doing that for a sunrise. Why is that?

I see pictures on blogs of some beautiful sunrises, but a picture is not the same as “feeling” it. Not only seeing it, but getting that sense of a new beginning, of hope for a better day. Hmm…..I guess I have something to ponder now. Maybe once I get to that happy, joyous and free place, the dawn of a new day will mean more to me. I hope so. Routines are just….routine. Going through the motions. That is not enough any more. I need better, I deserve better.

 

free ebook downloads

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

4 responses to “Seeing a Sunrise, or Feeling a Sunrise?

  • loisajay

    I like the quietness of a morning sunrise. Just me and the sun. I like to think I have this invisible sign with me that says: “Sunrise in Progress. Do Not Disturb.”

    Like

  • Allison at longandluxe.com

    Maybe it’s the poet in me, but I sort of felt a sunrise of sorts as I read your words, Mark. I bet the next time you watch a sunrise it will feel like a mirror of the dawning, or awakening, in you. Maybe, just maybe, that joy is already in you – rising.

    I admit I’m a sucker for sunrises . . . I meditate at 5am – candles, incense, the whole scene, I love it so – and there is some thing positively electric and peaceful about tapping into the energy of dawn. Kind of feels like a miracle.

    Peace, friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  • mle471earthlinknet

    Great blog. I never appreciated a sun rise. That would mean I had to be up for it and that’s just not in my vocabulary. But you do deserve better than mere routines. We all do. Thanks for the thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

