2 Blogs

I have two blogs. Not a big deal, many people have more than one blog so in no way am I special, different or terminally unique. I just wanted to explain why I am doing it, mostly to remind me of what I had tried to commit myself to and maybe kick start my brain again, complacency sucks!

This blog, joatmon14, is just about figuring things out and trying to make sense out of life, a little bit at a time. In case you didn’t know, joatmon is not my real name. My name is Mark, nice to meet ya! joatmon is an acronym for Jack Of All Trades Master Of None. See, I have always known a little bit about a lot of things (humility still in check), never really knew a lot about anything. Of course this is just my opinion here, plus I have been using this acronym for a while now and it is fun watching my kids roll their eyes, they seem to do that at me a lot these days. I probably am just noticing more, BECAUSE I am around more these days.

Life has a funny way of straightening people out, not going to go into any details, but I had to make a change in the way I was living or I was going to die, and probably die alone. Not looking for sympathy or pats on the back or any negative remarks, just stating a fact. It took this series of events to help to show me what is important in life. I found out that I really enjoy writing. It is therapeutic for me, so I am going to keep doing it. I am not much of a talker, but I am definitely a thinker and I needed a way to get all these thoughts out of my head and writing seems to be what is working for me today.

Wow, more than I had planned to share at this point, but oh well. Oh, and the 14 after joatmon, that is just in recognition of my hero and favorite baseball player, Ernie Banks who wore number 14 for the Chicago Cubs. Because of this, I wore number 14 in my little league career.

OK, the “other” blog and actually the reason I had decided that I wanted to start a blog. It is called “An Ignorant View”. The premise behind it was this, I would go on Google News and look at the top news story, take exactly one hour, read as much as I can about the subject and then write a post FORMING MY OWN OPINION. See, I have always had a hard time forming opinions, I would listen to different sides of conversations and ended up agreeing with both sides, I was the COMPROMISER. I decided that I need to have an opinion, not that my opinion would be right, but it would be mine. I was tired of being in dead end conversations to where it would get to that place of an awkward silence and would end. I call it “ignorant view” because for the most part I have kept myself pretty ignorant on most subjects. Keep in mind that ignorance is just a lack of knowledge on a subject, not any indication of stupidity. Again, I knew a little bit about a bunch of things, but not much about anything (see where joatmon fits in here too?).

I wrote this entry mostly as a way to get myself back onto something that I wanted to do, and then moved away from. Needed a kick myself in the butt a little bit to move forward. Down below are some links to previous posts I did in An Ignorant View. What I would really love is a way to start conversations by people leaving comments to help me learn more, to question my opinion and have two way dialogue without the awkward silence.

Ignorant View

This is the link to my second blog, if any of this interests you at all, check it out and let me know what you think. I promise that there will be a new post today, as I have not posted there in too long.

See Ya

Mark

 

 

 

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

