Memories Of Running

Yesterday’s (I am playing catch-up from being away for a lovely weekend with my wife) Daily Prompt asks that we take a look at our bookcase and tell which book we would most like to re-read if we had the time.

The funny part is that the book that comes instantly to mind is not, and had never been “on my bookshelf”. It was originally released as an audio-book only about 10 years ago by Ron McLarty. It was one of the first audiobooks I ever purchased and to this day it is still one of my favorites. I see now that it is also available in print form so my bookshelf might have to have a new addition soon.

The book is called “The Memory Of Running” and is a story about a simple man named Smithson (Smithy) Ide and of his quest to close the loop on some personal issues involving his family, which actually allows Smithy to find himself in the process. The main character hits very close to home for me, just a guy trying to find himself. I never had the experiences that Smithy has as he tries to ride his bicycle across the country to find his sister, but the thoughts and feelings that he shares as he travels are all about me.

If you like audiobooks, I highly recommend you ordering this book, to hear the author tell the tale and the voice he gives to Smithy really make the book for me I believe. If you are not into audiobooks, then I have linked the author’s page above and the book can be ordered thru normal channels.

Anyway, if you have read this book before, please leave me a comment below. As of today I have yet to meet anyone that has heard of this book, yet it is supposedly a best seller. It should be a best seller in my opinion, in fact I might just buy it again šŸ™‚

See Ya

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

