Terminally Unique

Too many times in my life I have been in a group of people saying to myself “I don’t belong here”.

Too many times I have wanted to be part of the conversation, just not sure how to “fit in”

Too many times I have missed out, because I “wasn’t like these other people.”

Too many times I kept quiet because “they wouldn’t understand me anyway.”

I call this being terminally unique.

What I have found out, after years of trying to live life on MY terms, not on life’s terms, is that I am NOT terminally unique. That there are people in the world that know and understand how I feel, that there are people in this world that have gone through what I have gone through and are willing to share their experiences with me, good and bad.

Life is such a precious commodity, and we only have one shot at it. Sounds corny? Don’t care. Being terminally unique leads me to a bad place in my life, it is a lonely, dark place and I know that I am not the only one that is there. I hear the stories, I read the stories, I see the stories. We are all unique, yet none of us really is.

Share something with someone, or even better, be willing to listen to someone that needs to share. Look for the similarities, not the differences. Give someone a chance to spend a little time in your heart, even if it is just for a moment. Gotta start somewhere.

All of this advice is directed at me, but if anyone reading can use any of it, then I have proven my point. I just spent the weekend with a large group of people that I did not think I would have anything in common with, and as I listened and even shared a little, I was wrong. We might have taken different roads to get there, but we were there for the same reason. We want something better for ourselves, we want to be loved and to be able to love. We want to be accepted and to be able to accept others.

I know that at least one person that I was with this weekend is going to read this, so thank you for allowing me to spend time with you. To allow me to grow just a little bit more as we trudge along this road of happy destiny.

With much respect

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

5 responses to “Terminally Unique

Leave a Reply

