Harder Than I Thought

Been thinking about this since this morning when I first read the daily prompt, and have not come up with any thing that I hated or despised as far as movies, books or TV shows. Even got my family involved trying to name something, nothing.

Question was, When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

I honestly cannot think of anything, now if the question was if it had left me indifferent, that would be another story. I don’t go to see movies unless they look interesting to me, I don’t read reviews because they do not help in my opinion, because in fact it is MY OPINION that counts when I think about movies, right? I cannot remember the last time I watched a movie that I was not able to take a little something out of it that I liked, some movies are in fact pretty dumb, but sometimes that is what I need. I personally enjoy animated films more than most 49 year old men I believe, but I am OK with that. In fact I am proud of it.

Books, if a book doesn’t interest me I am not going to start reading it, and if I do start I probably won’t get much into it if I am not enjoying it, but again I cannot think of any book that I absolutely did not like, but then again there are a lot of books out there that I have not read yet that I would like to try, just to say I did it. My opinion might change after that. On top of reading, I also enjoy audio books since I am in my car more than an hour a day, I can get some reading done that way. My new idea is to check out audio CD books from the public library in alphabetical order as they are on the shelf, regardless of what they are. It forces me to try something that normally would never have made it into my library. Some recent books I have really enjoyed listening to are “The Shack”, “Native Son” and “Watership Down”, which is actually about rabbits, but I thoroughly enjoyed it, because I gave it a chance.

Last but not least, TV shows. There are three shows that I watch religiously, Deadliest Catch, Falling Skies and Big Bang Theory. That’s it, if you don’t count the anime that I have been watching since my daughter introduced me to it, but that is on Netflix or Amazon Prime or Hulu, so that doesn’t count (right?). Anyway, there are a lot of shows that I know that I would get hooked on, which is why I do my best to stay away from them. Mostly because when I sit down in front of a TV, I want to snack. I DON’T NEED TO BE SNACKING, trust me on this…….

I honestly don’t hate any show, book or movie. I honestly don’t have time or energy to hate anything, too much effort. Now indifference is a different thing, I am indifferent about a lot of things, but that can be for another time. Remember that the opposite of love is NOT hate, it is apathy or indifference. Hate and Love are both strong emotions that take effort and time, indifference is much easier 🙂

Thanks for letting me ramble, and if any of you read this far, thanks for not being indifferent as well.

See Ya

P.S. Now if you want to talk about music, that is a different story. You know what you get when you mix Country and Rap music? You get C R A P, but they didn’t ask me about music, I got some stronger feelings there……again, for another time

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

9 responses to “Harder Than I Thought

Leave a Reply

