2 views

If you could paint your current mood onto a canvas, what would that painting look like? What would it depict?

At first glance, the painting is calm and serene. Sun shining on a lake, water as smooth as glass. Small cabin offset from the lake a short ways, light plume of smoke rising from the chimney. Cabin appears to be well kept, a porch stretches along the entirety of the cabin, with a freshly painted railing. Small porch swing sits next to a evenly cut pile of fire wood stacked neatly for easy access.

A long pier reaching into the lake, small row boat tied off at the end. Trees rising up all around the cabin in every shade of green imaginable. The reflection off of the water mirrors the magnificent view perfectly.

But as you turn the canvas slightly, the picture changes. The calm water is now choppy and threatens to break apart the now dilapidating pier. The small boat has broken free from the dock and now wanders aimlessly in the lake, with no apparent direction to go.

The cabin is in disarray, dried out wood now surrounds it where the porch used to be. Porch swing hangs limp on one side as chain has rusted through on the other. Fire wood is old and useless, scattered across the front door. Cabin looks as though no one has been there for years and just left it to rot. Trees are ominous looking with bare branches sticking out in every direction, no sign of leaves or of any kind of life.

Quickly the canvas is turned back to the view of serenity. I’ve learned that there is a way to keep the picture hanging this certain way so that this can always be the view, but I also know that if I do not follow those instructions on how to hang it, that the other view can quickly come into sight again

 

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “2 views

Leave a Reply

