On my mind

At the top of my blog page I wrote “Trying to figure it all out”. That is why I wanted to start blogging to get my feelings out, the ones that have been stuffed away for too long. Sometimes I wander away from my initial goal.

This morning the word HUMILITY was brought up, which is the act of being humble (one of many definitions). I had always considered myself a humble person, but was I ever wrong. One cannot be humble and have ulterior motives. One cannot be humble and want things only for himself, regardless of the facade that they present. One cannot be humble and have scorn in his heart for those around him that have what he desires.

True merit, like a river, the deeper it is, the less noise it makes – Edward Frederick Halifax

Humility is not just something that you wake up one morning and decide to be, it has to be lived. I believe it can be learned, if I can become and remain teachable. Pride is humility’s enemy, pride is one of the seven deadly sins. Being proud of an accomplishment is a good thing, boasting about it, even if by doing it quietly, is the problem. The need of recognition goes against humility. The need to please others, or to act in a way that I believe that others want me to act goes against humility. Saying things that I think people want to hear just to get that positive reaction goes against humility.

I am making a lot of changes in my life, no…..God is making a lot of changes in my life. Left to my own devices I am not a good person, but that’s OK as I do not have to be that person any more. I can be the person that my Higher Power, who I choose to call God, wants me to be, needs me to be. Progress not perfection.

A friend of mine keeps reminding me of Rule 62

RULE 62 = “Stop taking your self so damn seriously

That about sums it up.

Don’t accept your dog’s admiration as conclusive evidence that you are wonderful – Ann Landers

Be good to yourself today

See Ya!

 

 

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “On my mind

  • Michelle E

    All we can do is turn ourselves over to God every morning and remember throughout the day that all we do is not our doing. If we put our will in there, it’s not Him anymore. Good thought for the day. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

