Memories out the window

Today, you can write about whatever you what — but your post must include, in whatever role you see fit, a cat, a bowl of soup, and a beach towel.

She sits at the window waiting, looking for a sign. Watching the tide roll in as the sun sets over the turquoise water, rays reflecting through the pane of glass that is merely inches from her tear stained face. Her mom tried to get her to eat something earlier, but she couldn’t. The bowl of chicken noodle soup , which is usually her favorite, is now cold. Setting on the window sill next to her, untouched.

Down below a couple of the neighborhood cats are scampering about carelessly, chasing each other through the yards of the row of houses lining the beach. Not a care in the world, she is sure that they have no idea what is going through her thoughts, no one does. She can’t let anyone in, she needs to hold on to this memory. It is all she has any more.

Beach towels hang on the fence from when her brother went to the beach earlier in the day, she doesn’t understand. Why can he go on as if nothing is wrong? How dare he? He should be in as much pain as she is, dammit, everyone should!

She closes her eyes, waiting, wondering if things can ever be the same again……

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

