Heathaze

Was out cutting the yard this morning and this song kept playing over and over in my head. Made me think of a lot of the poetry that I see on WordPress and wanted to share either as a reminder or as an introduction to some words written 25 years ago that are still wonderful and applicable today.

Song was originally on Genesis’ “Duke” album released in 1980.

No cloud, a sleepy calm
Sun baked earth that’s cooled by gentle breeze
And trees with rustling leaves
Only endless days without a care
Nothing must be done

Silent as a day can be
Far off sounds of others on their chosen run
As they do all those things they feel give life some meaning
Even if they’re dull

Time to stop this dreaming, must rejoin the real world
As revealed by orange lights and a smoky atmosphere

The trees and I are shaken by the same winds but whereas
The trees will lose their withered leaves
I just can’t seem to let them loose
And they can’t refresh me those hot winds of the south
Feel like an alien, a stranger in an alien place

Now the light is fading fast
Chances slip away, a time will come to pass
When there’ll be none
Then addicted to a perfumed poison
Betrayed by its aftertaste
We shall lose the wonder and find nothing in return
Many are the substitutes but they’re powerless an their own

Beware the fisherman who’s casting out his line
Into a dried up river bed
But don’t try to tell him ’cause he won’t believe you
Throw some bread to the ducks instead, it’s easier that way
Feel like an alien, a stranger in an alien place

Have a great day

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “Heathaze

Leave a Reply

