Meatball, Carrot and Potato Stew

Today, be inspired by a favorite childhood meal. For the twist, focus on infusing the post with your unique voice — even if that makes you a little nervous.

Always looked forward to dinner when I was a kid, to what Mom was going to make us. We had our regulars, porcupine meatballs, chicken and dumplings, hamburger/potato soup, on Tuesdays we had leftovers and on Saturdays, money permitting, she made steak or a roast. So simple, but such good memories

Maybe it was because we actually sat down at the table together more often than not, then we would have to help with the dishes so that we could go back outside and play until the sun went down.

No radio, no TV, no taking the food to the bedroom so that you can get back online with your friends. Good mood, bad mood, happy or sad, we sat at the table and ate dinner.

But the one meal that to this day, 40+ years later that I could never get enough of, Meatball, Carrot and Potato stew. Personally do not know the recipe, but I do know that it is stored in Mom’s memory and even when I did write it down, it just never turned out the way that she made it.

It was the sauce that it was cooked in, I know there is tomato sauce and Worcestershire sauce and……other stuff…..and she would put it on to cook early in the day and just let it cook on the stove on low. Eventually the miracle that is the crock pot came along, but don’t remember if this concoction ever made it to a crock pot…..maybe…doesn’t matter.

It was my choice for birthday meals, much to the chagrin of my sisters who did not understand that out of anything in the world, I would want this. They liked it, just apparently not as much as me.

OK, here is how it works:

1st pass – You have to get the carrots out of the way to make Mom happy as we all know how good for you veggies are. So you get 2-3 meatballs, as many potatoes as you could get away with and as few carrots as you can get away with. Smash up the meatballs and the potatoes, get some butter for the potatoes and carrots, then I would do something that gave me double the pleasure….

KETCHUP!!!

#1 – I love ketchup, #2 – My sister thought it was absolutely gross that I dipped my buttered potatoes in ketchup. It was a win-win. And considering our “assigned chairs” were right next to each other, gave me just that much more satisfaction.

2nd pass – Can’t go until everyone else has all they want on the first pass, but going back there is usually plenty of meatballs, just a few potatoes and a mound of carrots. If you pick through the carrots, avoiding them like the plague, you can usually find all of the small pieces of potatoes floating in the sauce, then you are ready to mash again!

Just had a thought, probably should not have written this right before I went to the grocery store…..

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

