Cleaning the pool – An Epiphany

Leaves_Floating_In_A_Pool_At_RHS_Wisley_Surrey_UK

Leaves float, everyone knows that. You put a leaf in water and it will float. Been cleaning the pool over the past several days, and thanks to the neighbor’s tree I have more than enough leaves to try to get out, and it hit me.

So many leaves at the bottom of the pool, my friend that cleans pools for a living calls them “dirty leaves”. Over time apparently leaves sink, and then, for lack of a better term, “muck” develops on these leaves and there they sit. Well, as I made my way around the pool with the vacuum, I started breaking up the piles of leaves and most of them, once free of the muck that held them down, started floating up to the top again, where I could easily take the skimmer and remove them from the pool.

Leaves are feelings. Stay with me here, a leaf falls on the water and if left there long enough will go under, only to be trapped until someone or something comes along and lets it free. Isn’t this how it is for people who do not express their feelings or act on them? While they are on the surface, they are very easy to clean up, but once at the bottom, it is very difficult to get them back to the surface.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So which pool are you?

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

One response to “Cleaning the pool – An Epiphany

Leave a Reply

