3 most important songs in my life – Writing 101

Southern Cross – Crosby, Stills and Nash

Something about the words in this song that always take me to a place that I would like to be. Water has always calmed me and the thought of sailing on the ocean just sounds wonderful. “Got out of town on a boat to the Southern Islands”. How can you not want to be there. I guess this would be my dream song, my bucket list song. Funny part is that I have never been sailing in my life which speaks volumes. Still though, I get chills when I hear this song, not to mention the video of Stephen Stills sailing his huge boat puts me in a good place. Maybe some day….

I Don’t Care Anymore – Phil Collins

Guess this would be my every day song, or at least the image that I seem to want to project…”You can tell everyone I’m a darned disgrace, drag my name all over the place…I don’t care anymore”. This song is exactly how I WANT to feel, not to be concerned with what others think and say about me, not to let it get me to try to change to please them, instead of what and how I really feel. Maybe this is why I felt the urge to start writing, since I am not really good at speaking my mind or being confrontational, at least this way it is just me and the keyboard and my thoughts. I know Mr Collins, who has been one of my favorite musicians for over 30 years now, wrote this about his divorce, but I also applaud his decision to take his family and just move off to be alone, to get away from all the haters of the world. He has more than enough money, why stick around and listen to all the critics. I get that!

Best of Times – Dream Theater

Mike Portnoy wrote this song after his father had passed away, I always liked the song and am a huge Dream Theater fan, but when my Dad died, this song took on a whole new meaning. I don’t know how many times I listened to this song in my car and just cried my eyes out. Listening to all that the father and son did together I was envious, maybe even a little jealous, maybe even a little pissed off that I did not do all of those things. But what the song did was to make me think of what we did do while I was growing up instead of looking at the bad times we had, or about all the things we never got around to doing. I just wish that there was more time to let him know how much I respect and admire him, even when things were bad he always made sure we had what we needed, and usually what we wanted. You don’t get second chances with the people you love once they leave us, and it is never too late……

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

