Surrender

sur·ren·der

verb \sə-ˈren-dər\

: to agree to stop fighting, hiding, resisting, etc., because you know that you will not win or succeed

: to give the control or use of (something) to someone else

: to allow something (such as a habit or desire) to influence or control you

 

So is surrender a good thing or a bad thing? I guess it all depends on what you are surrendering and who you are surrendering to. “Fight the Good Fight”, that is what “they” always told us, right? Where does that get you? You and your will are still in control and in some people, that is NOT a good thing. I can definitely speak for myself when I say that. Left to my own devices, I will mess up a one car funeral. But I don’t have to live like that, right? I can do something about it, right?

Of course I can, but the bigger question is “Will I”. We all know what we have to do, what we need to do to be happy, or at least content, but we do not want to give up control or “surrender” anything to make it so. So what’s it going to take? Do I need to sink further into despair, let the crap around me win? I keep saying that I still have too much to lose, but I don’t see myself changing. Others tell me that I am, but I don’t see it.

Anyway, went and saw a couple movies the last couple days, “God is NOT dead” and “Non-Stop”. Liked them both but for different reasons. Would recommend “God is NOT dead” to anyone that needs a good spiritual uplifting, not the best acting in the world but I liked the stories and got a lot out of it. “Non-Stop” is a Liam Neeson action movie. Liam Neeson is just a bad-ass, I enjoy his movies and this one kept me wondering who the bad guy was until almost the end. Won’t win any awards but was worth the time watching it. Plus I basically had the entire theater to myself since school is not out yet, which I think was my favorite part.

Just going to keep on keepin’ on, maybe some day someone will read these incoherent thoughts and leave a comment 🙂

 

See Ya

Mark

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

Leave a Reply

