Who woulda thunk?

Back on January 21st, we asked you to predict what day #211 would be like. Well, July 30th is that day — how have your predictions held up so far? If you didn’t reply to the prompt at the time, is this year turning out to be as you’d expected?

Even though I was not a citizen of Blogopolis back on January 21st, the answer to both questions above would be a resounding NO. Not even sure if resounding is a strong enough word.

If someone had told me on January 21st all that was going to happen before July 30th, I would have told them that they were crazy. Then I probably would have gotten mad at them for even suggesting such calamities would happen and that they had better mind their own business!

If you look at my ABOUT page, my first sentence is “Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction”. Well, back in January I was not looking for any of that. I thought I had it all, had the world by the . . ahem . . tail and no one could touch me. 2014 was going to be my year. . .woo hoo . . .rock on! Yeah!!!

Funny part is, 2014 has been my year, just wasn’t expecting it to go this direction, but it definitely needed to. I have learned more about myself in the last 4+ months than I did in the first 49 years. I learned that there really are more important things than having money. That there really are people in this world that can and do love me regardless of what I am, they love me for who I am. That blood really is thicker than water.

Not going to go into details about all that has happened, let’s just say that I am working on having a spiritual awakening and building a stronger relationship with my Higher Power who I choose to call God. Some of you could probably figure out from this statement part of what happened, but I am going to leave it at that.

Ya know, all I can think of to say is the old joke that goes…..”If you want to make God laugh hysterically, just tell Him what your plans are!”

About joatmon14

Man in recovery from everything, looking for a little help, inspiration and direction.... Have spent the last 25 years working in big business, getting lost in all the chaos, not feeling like what I did mattered. By no means am I a professional writer nor do I even think I am that good, but it is something I love to do. Getting lost in a world of words, even for just a little while is why I started my blogs. In reality, at the age of 49 I am trying to find my voice. To find my passion. Maybe starting a little late, but better late than never. I write for me, I enjoy reading other's thoughts very much as well and look forward to the day that I can hold an extended, intelligent, meaningful conversation with YOU View all posts by joatmon14

10 responses to “Who woulda thunk?

Leave a comment